Do you want to be a part of a non-violent or violent world?: Anny Drobet (EE)

Anny Drobet

Anny Drobet is a board member of the Estonian Vegan Society, who belives that non-human animals are in this world not for us, but with us. Here, Anny reflects among other things, on why is veganism a feminist issue, what are her principles of being a vegan and what are the major environmental issues that our world is facing today. 

Anny, how do you define yourself? 

Because veganism is such a big part of my life, I define myself primarily through it. So, I am a vegan. I am also an animal rights and animal liberation activist. 

When and why did you go vegan? 

I was a vegetarian several years before I went vegan. It all started when I was 16, I think, when I first saw a video about how fur is made. And then I stopped eating meat. At the age of 23 I saw a Gary Yourofsky’s video and a new vegan was born.

At first it was a little scary at the mall because it felt like I couldn’t eat anything anymore but I have always had in mind the thought that my life is much easier compared to non-human animals. So I just can’t complain. I’ll rather starve than eat someone. Also, I wouldn’t eat a human. 

What is feminism to you?

Feminism has very much changed my life. I think that thanks to veganism I have opened my eyes to all other forms of oppression. I also value myself more as a woman due to the understanding of patriarchy. And I see the thought patterns that I have had in the past and how I was also the problem in the system.

Are feminists morally required to be(come) vegan?

I think it’s clearly hypocritical to be a feminist and not be vegan. Are we fighting only for human rights? We tend to forget that as humans we are also animals. Non-human animals are the most oppressed beings on this planet.

Do you have a favorite vegan/vegan feminist quote?

“Animals are not here for us, they are here with us.” /I don’t know the author./

“If you are a feminist and are not a vegan, you are ignoring the exploitation of female nonhumans and the commodification of their reproductive processes, as well as the destruction of their relationship with their babies.” /Gary L. Francione/

How do your ideas and feelings about animal rights manifest in your daily life?

I don’t contribute to animal exploitation and I do animal rights activism so that other humans would see that this violence they are part of, is so very unnecessary. 

What needs to happen to improve the rights of non-human persons?

We need to have more vegan activists. Just being a vegan is not enough for animals.

What non-human persons can teach us? What have they taught you?

I think that they have taught us how to live peacefully and smart since the beginning of time. Humans just have never wanted to hear, see or learn. 

They have taught me that they are the same as humans with their own unique lives. Humans are not better or smarter or more important. 

What cats can teach us? What Aino, your companion cat, has taught you?

First thing that Aino taught me was that when I want to touch or hold her, it doesn’t mean that she wants the same thing — I would get hurt. I don’t like when my personal space is intruded, the same should go with Aino. After I changed my behavior we got along much better. 

We need to be patient with our companion non-human animals. We need to get used to each other, and learn their body language. It is a long relationship and that is a great responsibility.

Marije Vogelzang, a Dutch food designer has said: “When I think about food I think about something much bigger than only cooking. Food is agriculture, biology, psychology, transport, human connection, animal connection, waste, health, nurture, nature, science, and also gastronomy.” How would you comment on that? 

I think she is right and the same goes for everything that we consume. Too bad that she uses animals to design food.

When I think about food, I see fuel. When I see animals, I don’t see food. They are as much food to me as a brick or table — I don’t eat those things. 

Have your concerns about the environment changed during the years?

Yes, they have changed and they have grown over the years. There are several issues that the world is facing today. There’s of course global warming due to fossil fuels, animal agriculture, plastic and textile pollution etc. But for me, and this is maybe something that humans tend to not talk about, is overpopulation. There’s way too many people in the world. Every new life in our species contributes to consumption. I also worry that we don’t talk about the fact that we should already be preparing ourselves for the worst because we are not going to fix anything anymore. 

If someone would say that “This report by an independent authority on XXXX showed that veganism is unhealthy.” How would you reply on that?

I would say that veganism is not a diet, it is about animals. And yes, a plant based diet can be unhealthy if you make poor food choices, same goes with a carnist diet. There are several studies about how a whole foods plant-based diet is best for your health and the environment. What I am sure about is that animals don’t have any x-vitamin or mineral that you can’t get from plants. I most definitely would prefer to be an unhealthy vegan than someone who eats other living creatures.

Could you please recommend three resources to someone who may be vegan curious, who or which material would you recommend?

First of all, watch Gary Yourofsky’s video “Best speech you will ever hear”. Then watch Dominion, Earthlings and other vegan movies. And all other info about veganism and animal rights you will get here (in Estonian): vegan.ee and miksvegan.ee.

What animal activists, vegan activists, etc would you say have influenced you the most, and why?

Tash Peterson who is a vegan activist from Australia. Her actions are selfless. Her messages are powerful. The way she does her activism is fearless, also nonviolent. She is just fierce.

Also, local activists who have influenced me are Ireene Viktor and Kadri Taperson. I have so much respect for what they have done over the years. It is not easy to be an animal rights/animal liberation activist in this non-vegan and violent world. 


Get inspired!

Website (Estonian Vegan Society, in Estonian): https://vegan.ee

Facebook (Estonian Vegan Society): https://www.facebook.com/eestiveganselts/

Instagram (Estonian Vegan Society): 

https://www.instagram.com/eestiveganselts/